Wednesday, April 8, 2015


At last night’s Town Council meeting, a lot of critical situations came about.  The impact of these decisions will NOT be discussed in this recap but will be addresses separately.

Under Council Orders, Resolutions & Ordinances –

1. Public Works Garage Addition – The Council approved $71,489.00 for the addition of the garage by a vote of 7-0.
2. MDOT Project agreement modification (Androscoggin River Trail) – The Council approved $25,000.00 tax dollars to cover a shortfall of $125,000.00 in the project.
3. CDBG Downtown Revitalization Grant Program Application – The Council approved by a vote of 7-0 for the town to submit for this grant.
4. Longchamps & Sons, Inc Abatement – The town attorney stated the Council did NOT have the authority to take action on this so the Council denied the abatement request by a vote of 7-0.
5. Accept Forfeiture Disbursements – The town received from the U.S. Marshall’s a total of $515.78 in additional Forfeiture Funds and the Council accepted the funds by a vote of 7-0.
6. Approve Transfer of Snowmobile Reimbursement to the Recreation Reserve Account – The Council approved this by a vote of 7-0.
7. Recreation Fee Schedule – The Council approved rate increases for the Recreation Department by a vote of 7-0.
8. Schedule Special Council Meeting for April 14, 2015 – This was approved by the Council by a vote of 7-0.  This was done so that the minutes of this meeting could be attached to the CDBG grant.
9. Finance Committee Discussion – The Council voted 7-0 to abolish the Finance Committee.
10. Health Officer – The Council approved by a vote of 7-0 to train the Code Enforcement Officer Dennis Douglas to perform these duties.
11. Nomination for MMA Executive Committee – The Council agreed by a vote of 7-0 to table this item.
12. 2015 Spirit of America Tribute – This award was presented to Faye Brown for her many contributions to this community.  Faye deserves this award and much much more for her many long hours she has put into this town.

Under Town Managers Report – The Town Manager offered a suggestion of moving the ECD department under the General Ledger to make account easier because the ECD Director is paid from the TIF fund.

Under Appointments – The Council accepted the resignations of Mr. Mike Bowie and Mr. Charles Smith.  The Council also disapproved the nomination of Mr. Roger Cote and Mr. Dean Wiley.

During the Workshop, the Council heard Mr. Ryan Leighton discuss the proposed budget for Public Works and Solid Waste.  Mr. Mark Stevens discuss the proposed budget for both the Parks and Recreation Departments.  It seems the Town Manager has recommended to the council joining these two departments since the Beaver Park Ranger has retired.

Larry Fillmore

Editors Note:  The Town Council should be ashamed of themselves for dissolving the finance committee and not approving the nominations of Mr. Cote and Mr. Wiley.  If you don't agree with the council's opinion and you are on a committee you are in danger of being dissolved. Some people would consider this Corruption. The Town Council has proven they will do anything to keep the Police Department including dissolving committees that threaten the departments existence.

No comments:

Post a Comment